Moderators: richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

bakestar
Topic Author

MEL-PER-MEL & the first Qantas B787

Mon Oct 08, 2018 2:54 am

Good morning all, and welcome to my very first Trip Report!
After years of reading dozens of previous reports here (and getting a jealous as anything) I finally figured out how to do it. So here it is.
Granted, this trip was from November 2017 I believe it’s still a very interesting one as it was one of the initial Qantas 787-9 services. I gather more for crew familiarisation.

Background: I work as a public servant and was required to travel from Melbourne to Perth for a few days for work. Tough work, I know. ;)
Whilst researching which flights i was able to select from, the numbers 787 drew my eyes immediately. I would have the chance to not only go on a nice trip, but to also fly the newest plane in the Qantas fleet. All on the company dollar, too :D

I headed from the city to MEL straight after work in a taxi, which thanks to the Freeway widening project (10 years too late) took les then 30min. Apon online checking in earlier in the day i was ready for my QF481 flight, which would be operated by a A330-200 (standard for East/West coast)

A good variety of the QF fleet (Dash-8s, F-100 and a 787)

Nice spot to wait while waiting for my flight.

My ride for the night. Airbus A330-200, VH-EBD, 'Traralgon'

The main meal in a box is a bit odd. I had the Vegetarian pasta (super tasty and crew never run out) Also to drink a can of Boags Premium
Fleet list
Funny man!

A few shots of sunny Perth (while I wasn’t glued to my desk) Such a nice place, especailly around Fremantle (unfortunately not on this trip)

And the long awaited return journey back to MEL aboard Qantas’ first B787-9.
Almost there…

The beauty! Boeing 787-9, VH-ZNA “Great Southern Cross’. Only weeks old!

Unique nose

Final window clean before action. Everyone was taking extra special care of her.

More photos on-board and enroute!