cricket
Topic Author

A week’s trip to Mallorca DEL-AMS-PMI KL/J HV/Y (Part 1 w/pics)

Sun May 06, 2018 5:46 pm

As some of you know, I’m a motoring journalist who also loves aviation. Truth be told I would like to write a lot more trip reports than I do, because I do end up taking some fascinating journeys, but it is what it is. But because I don’t write often enough, I’ve written a lot here so I’ll split this into two parts.

So, this was a trip organised to drive the new BMW i8 Roadster around the island of Mallorca, before that we would have two days of driving the 2018 facelift of the Mini, the Convertible and the 3-door Cooper S variants. I can’t complain too much about the job! A week in Mallorca driving around would be fun.

Usually the German car companies book us on Lufthansa, for obvious reasons, but this time a combination of cost and connections meant that we were flying on KLM via Amsterdam Schiphol. And our leg from Amsterdam to Palma de Mallorca would be on Transavia. Some colleagues who were coming later flew on Air Europa via BCN or MAD. Although Transavia is a low-cost holiday carrier, I always prefer fewer connections on such trips because there is less chance of baggage shenanigans, but as we discovered later these are not completely eliminated.

DEL-AMS
KL872 22.04.2018
STD: 0345IST ATD:0412IST
STA: 0835CEST ATA: 0825CEST
Boeing 787-9 PH-BHC
Seat: 7K World Business Class