Moderators: richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

ULA340
Topic Author

EK 235 (DXB -> ORD) - A fake smile, doesn't go a long way

Mon Jan 15, 2018 2:54 pm

A controversial yet deserved title to my first experience on Emirates. Please note that all views expressed on this report are mine and they might reflect a one off experience. If you have noticed instances like mine, let me know in the comments section. I'm very critical in this TR as I attach high standards to the brand.

Also, this is my first time writing a TR. I have been lurking for nearly a decade so it is time I contribute. Forgive my bad photography; flying for 18 hours with an 8 hour layover made me take photos out of haste. I don't know but it might have an influence on my experience so take my words with a grain of salt.

Flight info
EK 235
L.F 90-100%
B77W - A6-EPW (1.1 years old)
15h 28m

Backstory
I am an International student studying aerospace engineering in America; check my username if you want a hint as to where I am from. I have making this twice a year commute usually on QR, EY and UL with a combination of either AA or UA. I prefer the latter as I have a natural bias for my home carrier, love ex CMB catering, friendly air-hostesses ;), sandwiches as a mid-flight snack and the chance to fly old UA birds. Last time I flew UA, I had the pleasure of flying the oldest 777 which gave me goosebumps and was one of my most memorable flights. This time however, my switch in location from upstate NY to Chicago, prompted Emirates as the cheapest option to go from my native country to Murica. I was excited to say the least. Emirati exuberance as seen in other reports made me envision luxury. No denying that this assumption was true but money is not everything in this world after all, isn't it?