Moderators: richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

journalist75
Topic Author

France 24 news story on plane spotting at BRU (Brussels)

Mon Sep 10, 2018 1:23 pm

Hello everyone,

My name is Wassim Cornet, I'm a Belgian journalist working for the France 24 news channel in Paris.

I'm currently working on a TV report on plane spotters, and how different airports have different attitudes towards spotters. I've already met with French spotters at CDG, and I'd like to do some filming at Brussels Airport, to showcase the new observation platforms and how it has made the hobby so much easier.

I will be traveling to BRU next Tuesday or Wednesday (18th or 19th Sept., depending on the weather), and I'll be spending a few hours in the morning at the observation platforms. I've already secured an interview with an airport spokesperson, but obviously the most important thing is to make sure that there is a sufficient amount of people at the platforms to talk to and to make the story visually interesting.

What are the chances of finding spotters at BRU on a Tuesday or Wednesday morning? Are any of you planning on being at the airport on one of those days, or do you know anyone who will be there? I would be interested in filming a few spotters doing their hobby, watching planes, taking pictures of them, and asking a few questions such as "tell us a bit more about your hobby", "how have these new platforms changed things for you", or "how important is it for the airport to recognize the spotter community".

France 24 may be a French channel but we also have a channel in English so by all means, we can do the questions in English, too :)

Feel free to contact me here, on Twitter (@WassimCornet), or via email: wcornet@france24.com

Thanks for reading and I hope to meet some of you next week at Brussels Airport!

JakTrax

Re: France 24 news story on plane spotting at BRU (Brussels)

Mon Sep 10, 2018 3:05 pm

Hi Wassim,