captainzain
Topic Author

Plane spotter camera

Sat Jul 15, 2017 9:34 pm

Hey there guys, hope your all doing well.
Was wondering if you guys can help me out with a good Camera for plane spotting. I am wanting to spend around £500-600, don't know if that's enough but I just want something good enough to take some ace pictures!! :D I use to spot at Manchester Airport (EGCC). I was planning a trip down next week and was wanting a new camera. I currently have a Nikon camera, it's not a DSLR. It's the Nikon coolpix L120. I am pretty new to all the plane spotting things so was hoping you guys can give me some plane spotting tips too.

Thank you very much for your time guys
Zain

jelpee
Crew

Re: Plane spotter camera

Sun Jul 16, 2017 2:36 pm

Zain, it all depends on your end objective. I use Nikon gear and have some money invested in the equipment in order to get sales quality images as well as meet the acceptance standards here on airliners.net. On the other hand, I've got some decent images using my iPhone as well. Any DSLR body will do as will a mid priced zoom lens. If you're looking to capture images from airshows or do a lot of low light photography, a more expensive body and lens become necessary to obtain high quality pictures. I can't speak for other brands, but in the Nikon family, the D3400 and Nikon's 70-300mm lens might be a decent combination to consider. Perhaps some Canon or Sony users will weigh in on their views as well.

Jehan
Airliners.net Crew - Photo Screener

captainzain
Topic Author

Mon Jul 17, 2017 10:20 pm

jelpee wrote: