Moderators: richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

vahancrazy
Topic Author

Engine over the fuselage question

Wed Sep 12, 2018 4:44 am

Hei all,

This is maybe a noob question for many of you but I am not an engineers.... and I failed to find the reply by research function.

The engine are normallly located near the centre or gravity due to structural reason + (if I am not wrong) it's easier for fuel intake system and some how better air resistence compared to rear mounted option.

Consider landing gear, fuel intake, air resistence and any other possible factors, can you, please, explain why engine over the wing or over the fuselage (still in central position) are not an efficient option as below wing?
Only such layout example I recall is the Be-200.

Thanks for your piece of knowledge!
Last edited by SQ22 on Wed Sep 12, 2018 5:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Typo fixed

seb146

Re: Engine over the fusulage

Wed Sep 12, 2018 5:09 am

If I am not mistaken, the AN-71 and AN-74 have the same engine configuration.

I am not an engineer, but I would think it has to do with transferring fuel to the engines. Because the tanks on a 737 are in the center, it is "level" to get the fuel to the engines laterally (side to side) and for rear mounted engines, the fuel would go back instead of up. Probably also makes the pumps work less?

This is a good question. Thank you!

kitplane01

Wed Sep 12, 2018 5:28 am

vahancrazy wrote:
Hei all,

This is maybe a noob question for many of you but I am not an engineers.... and I failed to find the reply by research function.

The engine are normallly located near the centre or gravity due to structural reason + (if I am not wrong) it's easier for fuel intake system and some how better air resistence compared to rear mounted option.