SuperAzusa
Topic Author

Need help researching aircraft with short runway requirements, and airport environmental laws

Fri Aug 31, 2018 11:06 am

I'm a student researching local demand for an airport.

Basically, I am in Japan and we have an island that is only accessible by ship. However locals want an airport.

There's 2 problems
1. The island is small and mountainous so there's very limited options on location
2. Its also a world heritage site, so there is both international and domestic resistance from environmental groups.

There was a proposal in the 80s but it got shot down due to environmental concerns.
A more recent proposal requested a 1200 meter runway to be built over an abandoned Imperial Japanese runway. but this runway is 800 m and would require 400m of extension into the sea.

I'm wondering a compromise solution could be done. using the existing 800m runway and limiting any further extension.

I heard the new ATR 42 could land on 800m, but I think there needs to be more length for safety right?

does this small runway limit things to small propeller airplanes?

Then there's the environmental side too (invasive species, etc). This seems to be more of a management issue. Does anyone know of any airports that do good cleaning of aircraft when landing?

kitplane01

Re: Need help researching aircraft with short runway requirements, and airport environmental laws

Sat Sep 01, 2018 4:33 am

1200 meters if fine for small propeller aircraft with a reasonable pilot on a reasonable day. I've never heard of an airliner operating into a 1200 meter runway. Maybe someone does somewhere, but it's quite rare.

32andBelow

Re: Need help researching aircraft with short runway requirements, and airport environmental laws

Sat Sep 01, 2018 5:07 am

Saab 340 might be able to do that

ryan78

Sat Sep 01, 2018 5:09 am