Moderators: richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

jppilot97
Topic Author

Land terribly when on a solo flight.

Sun Jun 17, 2018 12:20 am

Hi everyone,

I’m a student pilot with 50 hours already logged in. I’m still struggling with landings when I go for my solo flights, although there’s a few good ones here and there. I’m not sure if it’s because I’m nervous or I just don’t do well on my own. I’ve practiced landings (soft-field and normal) with my instructor, and I tend to do very well after the first go. However, when I go for my solo, I always do terribly. I always either bounce a bit or land somewhat hard. This never happens when I practice with my instructor. Now I’m just worried that I’ll never land properly on my own, and I don’t know if it’s just happening to me. I’m getting close to my cross country and I feel discouraged that I still can’t do smooth landings constantly. Do you think it’ll just take me some more time to finally click? But again, I do well when it’s a dual flight. :cry:

Max Q

Re: Land terribly when on a solo flight.

Sun Jun 17, 2018 3:19 am

Since your landings are fine when the instructor is with you it’s not a lack of capability on your part

Rather, it sounds like you’re getting nervous by yourself

Discuss it with your instructor, perhaps ask him to stand by the runway and watch for a few landings

Knowing he’s there may well ease your jitters, also see if he’d come along with you but not say anything, like he’s a passenger (unless absolutely necessary)

You’ll be fine, everyone gets nervous, it will ease off

Also, don’t expect every landing to be smooth but make sure you’re looking at the
far end of the runway as you cross the approach end and start your flare

Max Q

Sun Jun 17, 2018 3:25 am

Max Q wrote:
Since your landings are fine when the instructor is with you it’s not a lack of capability on your part

Discuss it with your instructor, perhaps ask him to stand by the runway and watch for a few landings