Moderators: richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

Cyanide2703
Topic Author

Naming systems/basics

Wed May 16, 2018 12:25 pm

Yeah, I'm very new to all of this and want to know all the basics. Scrolling through the forums, I saw a lot of industry jargon. Where do I start to know all these basics and airplane naming systems?

SAAFNAV

Re: Naming systems/basics

Wed May 16, 2018 2:19 pm

What airplane naming systems are you referring to?
The only 'system' that really has any sway is the 1962 Tri-Service aircraft designation system for US military aircraft.

Civilian companies can name a plane anything they like.

I'm not sure there's one list to go through with all of it. A lot of stuff comes from years of working, talking and reading aviation.

Try this for size: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_a ... reviations

ZaphodHarkonnen

Wed May 16, 2018 2:28 pm

The other common ones are the IATA and IACO codes. Often used in discussions to refer to various airports, airlines, aircraft models, etc.

For example you might see something like "NZ flies a B77W from AKL to LHR via LAX"

Which unpacked basically says Air New Zealand flies Auckland to London via Los Angeles using a Boeing 777-300ER.

Most of this you'll pick up over time. Remember the abbreviations and other slang should be used to improve speed of comprehension between parties that both understand the meaning. It will take time to get there. And even then the sub specialities will mean you won't get everything.

Cyanide2703
Topic Author

Wed May 16, 2018 5:11 pm

ZaphodHarkonnen wrote:
The other common ones are the IATA and IACO codes. Often used in discussions to refer to various airports, airlines, aircraft models, etc.

For example you might see something like "NZ flies a B77W from AKL to LHR via LAX"

Which unpacked basically says Air New Zealand flies Auckland to London via Los Angeles using a Boeing 777-300ER.