Moderators: richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

Kno
Topic Author

A career transition into aviation

Mon Apr 23, 2018 5:59 pm

Hi all!

I'm currently looking to transition from software sales (I was laid off in February) towards a career I'm more passionate about (in commercial aviation). I'm a 27 year old with experience primarily in sales, logistics, and customer service - I have a marketing degree from Hofstra and live in Boston. As a regular here I figured there might be several of you with similar career paths who might be able to share helpful advice. Where to look, what kinds of positions might be a good fit for someone with my skill sets, and any advice on things I should do to get there.

So far I've looked into membership sales in the jet charter industry, I can also see myself researching markets and developing schedules, new routes, logistics, etc for an airline, or working for Massport on airport operations at Logan. At this age I worry it's a little late to start flight lessons now to become a pilot and that it would put me in years of Debt.

I haven't seen many jobs out there but I am certain they exist. I'm used to the B2B SAAS sales guy approach of finding jobs on job board sites and networking via LinkedIn to score an interview, perhaps this isn't the best approach with airlines and charter brokers? I'd love to hear any advice from you guys and/or hear your stories of what your aviation career is and how you got involved. Feel free to ask me any questions as well!

Thanks in advance!

Kno
Topic Author

Re: A career transition into aviation

Tue Apr 24, 2018 6:14 pm

I'm surprised there haven't been any responses yet. I assume this is the correct forum to post this in? I'm sure some of you must have careers in commercial aviation and I'd love to hear your stories!

MoKa777

Wed Apr 25, 2018 8:43 am