YoungExecutive
Topic Author

Understanding the Part 25 Certification

Tue Jan 09, 2018 8:40 pm

So my company has asked me to look at and master the P25 process over the next few months.....and I think I may need some help.

First off....there are 1700+ regulations...wow. My first thought, this may take some time, especially since I'm not a lawyer and never took lawyer as a foreign language. If anyone already has an understanding of it, please speak up. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

My first question comes from the SFAR No.13. I believe it's only applicable to DC-3 and L-18's. Is this correct?

Again, thanks in advance. This thread may get lengthy.

Nick

BravoOne

Re: Understanding the Part 25 Certification

Tue Jan 09, 2018 10:06 pm

I have operated under several different 125 Certs. Not difficult as long as you have an open and honest relationship with your local FAA office. I know nothing about SFAR 13. Are you planning to operate a DC3 on this certificate? If not what are you planning to operate? My 125 background is/was a B757 and 767 so I may have little to share.

MO11

Tue Jan 09, 2018 11:11 pm

I believe he is talking FAR 25, which is aircraft certification. And yes SFAR 13 does only apply to the DC-3 and Lodestar since they are theoretically transport category airplanes that were certificated outside of current TC regs. Probably a moot issue now.

GalaxyFlyer

Wed Jan 10, 2018 1:53 am

Please reply with the reasoning for needing to be conversant in Part 25. It’s a highly technical document with even larger “acceptable means of compliance” handbook, several Advisory Circulars and 90+ amendments. First, I assume you are not in the aircraft test and certification business. Second, based on that, Part 25 and the amendments apply different,y depending on the date of TC application by the design and manufacturer. As operators put in service type certificates aircraft, knowledge of Part 25 is usually ancillary to performance engineering.

GF