Moderators: richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

TopoGr
Topic Author

New pilot at 32!!

Mon Dec 04, 2017 11:10 pm

Hello guys, it's my first post in your site and I am very happy to view the great community you have :D

I was wondering if it is possible for someone to start from zero to Pilot at 32 years old.

I have an Engineer degree as background with work experience and the last 3 years I work for the military.

Will my background be of any advantage to the airliners in order to cover the disadvantages of my age??

Also, how many years do you think it will take me from zero to getting recruited from an Airliner? I don't mind working away from my country and
maybe I consider this a challenge to see new things, new places etc etc, and I am pretty flexible without family, kids, wife...

I am thinking of giving all of my savings to get ppl+buildup and atpl theory by my self and afterwards maybe get a loan to complete cpl,mmc
and be able to send some CVs. Do you think it is possible to find a job only with atpl frozen or should I accumulate some hundreds of hours as
Flight Instructor? I am ready to have type rating deducted from my salary and I accept the high probability of having to live with as low as 20000 euro yearly
in the first years of my careeer.

Also how many years do you think it would take me to become Captain?? Would it be the same as someone at early 20s, or because I have a mature background
will I reach my goal faster?

The reason I am thinking of this switch in my carreer is because I think my current job doesn't excite me as much as I would like and because I always had
the dream of becoming a Pilot.

WF2BNN

Re: New pilot at 32!!

Tue Dec 05, 2017 1:41 am

Yes. You have 33+ years to retirement! I know of a doctor who started med school at 40!