Moderators: richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

BojamDelta
Topic Author

Replacement engine/major part transportation?

Mon Sep 11, 2017 10:48 pm

Just seen a pic of a '5 engine' BA 747-200 and wondered if this still happens and if anyone has flown on an aircraft with an extra engine?
Was talking to a long serving employee who said it was quite regular in the 80s/early90s.
In my 16 years as a Ramp agent I have personally seen a couple of B747 flap fairings being sent in via Pallets in the hold and that's it.
I will probably answer my question in this sentence in thinking with all Airlines (certainly major) being in close ties with each other nowadays that a spare part is easy to get hold of at all the Hubs?

BO)am

Newbiepilot

Re: Replacement engine/major part transportation?

Mon Sep 11, 2017 10:52 pm

A 747 freighter can carry almost any engine inside. It is no longer necessary to carry spare engines on a pod.

BojamDelta
Topic Author

Mon Sep 11, 2017 11:01 pm

I have just seen a pic of a '5 engine' BA 747-200 and wondered if this still happens and if anyone has flown on an aircraft carrying an extra engine?
Speaking to a long serving employee he said it was fairly common in the 80s/early90s.
In my 16 years as a ramp agent I have only seen a couple of 747 wing fairings come in on Pallets.
I will probably answer my question in this sentence in thinking that Airlines (certainly major) and their close ties with one another at Hubs can easily get hold of parts nowadays!

BO)am

BojamDelta
Topic Author

Mon Sep 11, 2017 11:08 pm

Sorry for the double post there, oops!! Told me the thread was not posted.
With regards to cost isn't it cheaper to send a spare part under wing or in the belly on a scheduled flight rather than a freighter?

RWA380

Tue Sep 12, 2017 12:05 am