alexytfc
Topic Author

Lights mid air

Mon Sep 11, 2017 7:56 pm

Hi. Newbie here.

Was on an Easyjet night time flight a few days ago. Half way through the flight at I guess around 37,000 feet a bright light by the engine came on and went off. This happened 3 times with about 10 seconds between each 'flash'. These lights are the ones I believe normally switched on for landing. Does anyone know why this happened? Flashing at other aircraft? Thanks for anyone that answers! Alex

atcsundevil

Re: Lights mid air

Mon Sep 11, 2017 8:23 pm

alexytfc wrote:
Hi. Newbie here.

Was on an Easyjet night time flight a few days ago. Half way through the flight at I guess around 37,000 feet a bright light by the engine came on and went off. This happened 3 times with about 10 seconds between each 'flash'. These lights are the ones I believe normally switched on for landing. Does anyone know why this happened? Flashing at other aircraft? Thanks for anyone that answers! Alex

I'm not a pilot, but I believe they were using the wing lights to check for icing. Certain conditions can aid in the formation of icing, so they'd need to check if there's icing occurring, and what type of icing they're experiencing.

flybaurlax

Mon Sep 11, 2017 8:57 pm

It could also be a "wave" hello to a company aircraft passing nearby.
Boilerup! Go Purdue!

AA737-823

Mon Sep 11, 2017 10:02 pm

While ATCSunDevil could be right, it's more likely that they'd been made aware of a nearby aircraft by ATC, and the two planes were probably flashing lights to try to help establish visual contact.

OTOH, FlyBaurLax, if Easyjet was going to flash lights at other company aircraft, they'd never quit flashing lights.

N353SK

Mon Sep 11, 2017 10:59 pm

Those lights are for checking the wing for ice accretion, but it's highly doubtful an aircraft would be picking up ice at that altitude. As others have mentioned, they were probably trying to illuminate themselves so that they'd be easier for crossing traffic to see.