aerlingus333
Topic Author

Private Pilot Tests

Mon Sep 04, 2017 7:07 pm

I'm currently a student pilot with 39.6 hours, and just passed my written with a 90. I'm currently preparing for my private pilot checkride and oral exam, and was wondering how difficult each of the tests were for your PPL. I've been told the oral and checkride are harder than the written, is that true? Any tips for either of them?
Thanks

HAWKXP

Re: Private Pilot Tests

Mon Sep 04, 2017 7:11 pm

Yes they are. Trust your CFI to know when you are ready. TRY to relax.

cedarjet

Mon Sep 04, 2017 7:55 pm

You passed your "written"? Seven written exams in the EU, pass mark 75%, bloody hard work too. I nearly cried during the nav exam.

That said, the skills test was the worst. Couple of things that might help. 1. Don't tell more people than you absolutely have to. Judging by the number of good luck texts I got that morning (September 1 2016), I must have taken out a full page ad in the Guardian. The added pressure was extremely unhelpful. 2. Go easy on fluids beforehand, you're up for 3h. I needed a piss for at least two of them. 3. Don't think of it as a whole, I think that's a bit intimidating. If you're worried beforehand, break it down into each part. Nav? I can do that. Practice forced landing? Done loads of really good Ines. Slow flight? Easy! Stalls and recovery? Great fun! Etc. Your instructor won't set you up for it til you're ready, so that should be a source of encouragement also. Good luck!
fly Saha Air 707s daily from Tehran's downtown Mehrabad to Mashhad, Kish Island and Ahwaz

dakota558

Mon Sep 04, 2017 8:04 pm

Use the PTS (practical test standards) for the Private. It will list all the subjects you will go trough during your exam (both oral and practical). You will be asked questions about applicable regulations, so make sure you know all the regulations that apply to private in the FAR/AIM (there should be an index which will tell all the regulations that apply to private).