lineflyer
Topic Author

US Pilot to EU Pilot

Sun Jul 09, 2017 12:19 am

All,
I have difficulty finding information pertaining to becoming an airline pilot in the EU from the US. My background is a US military C-130 pilot with no prior civilian flying time. I'm currently still serving out my commitment to the military, but am seriously interested in moving abroad permanently to the EU and flying there. By the time I'm able to move, I will have my instrument rating, multi-engine land, and ATP licenses with about 2000-2500 practically all multi-engine. I understand that it can be difficult on the citizenship side and getting a work visa, but what I'm in the dark about is how my certifications will transfer over (if at all) and what would need to be done to make this a reality. I don't have a specific country in mind at the moment. Any help is very welcome and thank you in advance for the advice/info!

VSMUT

Re: US Pilot to EU Pilot

Sun Jul 09, 2017 6:53 am

lineflyer wrote:
All,
I have difficulty finding information pertaining to becoming an airline pilot in the EU from the US. My background is a US military C-130 pilot with no prior civilian flying time. I'm currently still serving out my commitment to the military, but am seriously interested in moving abroad permanently to the EU and flying there. By the time I'm able to move, I will have my instrument rating, multi-engine land, and ATP licenses with about 2000-2500 practically all multi-engine. I understand that it can be difficult on the citizenship side and getting a work visa, but what I'm in the dark about is how my certifications will transfer over (if at all) and what would need to be done to make this a reality. I don't have a specific country in mind at the moment. Any help is very welcome and thank you in advance for the advice/info!

Hi,