Moderators: richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

VC25A
Topic Author

How do I become an airline executive

Mon Jun 19, 2017 1:35 pm

Ever since I was really little I've loved airplanes and airlines. I'm now in college and I have a private pilot's license. I used to want to be a pilot and part of me still does, but airline pilots get screwed over by airlines with low pay and little chance of advancement. I want to be an executive at an airline and change the way that US airlines operate. I would like to provide airline pilots with better pay and customers with better service. How does a person get to be the Vice President of Human Resources or Chief Operations Officer or Vice President of Flight Operations? And then how can a person become CEO? I plan to apply for a few internships at airlines next summer (I was a freshman this past year), but otherwise how can I get a job like that? It seems like being an airline executive would be really cool.

MIflyer12

Re: How do I become an airline executive

Mon Jun 19, 2017 2:25 pm

Look at the education and career progressions of the people in those positions to which you aspire. U.S. carriers typically have executive bios of key leadership positions.

You will want to look at academic work in financial analysis. You might benefit from work in labor economics, too, to give you some context for pilot pay realities.

klakzky123

Mon Jun 19, 2017 2:31 pm

Airlines do a lot of promoting from within. Airline experience is a unique area that can't be replicated from other industries so you find a lot of airline execs have 20 or 30+ years of experience.