micky007
Topic Author

Suction Camera Holder on the OUTSIDE - PA-28

Wed May 10, 2017 12:48 pm

Hey,

Just wondering if someone can give me some information about the below please.

I'm a Student at Jersey Aero Club and currently on my solos in a PA-28. I'd love the film one of my flights from Jersey using a 4k Action Camera to get a great picture/view of Jersey and the Approach to Jersey Airport. I've been reading mixed feedback about using Suction Cups on an aircraft due to the pressurization making them become useless and just falling off. My plan is to do some circuits round Jersey at no more than 1,300 ft and use a suction cup to attach a camera to the belly/undercarriage of a Piper PA28.

Does anyone know if ill have any issues doing this since ill only be at 1,300ft? Not sure if the pressurization will become an issue for this due to the low altitude.

Can anyone recommend another way of maybe doing this in case any of you think there may be an issue.

Also ill also seek permission from Jersey Aero Club before doing this but would ATC need to know before hand to do a runway inspection after i depart to make sure that for whatever reason the suction cup hasn’t come off (it should have but always good to make sure).

Any feedback would be much appreciated.

Thanks,
Mike

zeke

Re: Suction Camera Holder on the OUTSIDE - PA-28

Wed May 10, 2017 2:02 pm

You will probably find it will be considered an illegal aircraft modification. And depending on how the footage is used, an illegal commercial operation.
Human rights lawyers are "ambulance chasers of the very worst kind.'" - Sky News

skyhawkmatthew

Wed May 10, 2017 2:38 pm

I would contact the CAA and ask them. In Australia, as Zeke as alluded, CASA sees even a suction cup as an aircraft modification and requires an engineering order or a dispensation. Typically a safety wire attached to a tie-down point is used in case the suction mounting fails.
Qantas - The Spirit of Australia.

77west