Moderators: richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

studentdrbev
Topic Author

Can a pax land an aircraft?

Sat Feb 10, 2018 8:59 pm

I'm sure this is absurd but can a pax land an aircraft like anything from A320 to B747 during an emergency guided by the ATC? (assuming both the pilots are down). The pax has absolutely zero experience in flying and is a complete novice (doesn't know all the technical stuffs) a.k.a. an everyday Joe. Will the 'everyday Joe' be able to take the role of both the pilots at the same time and land safely?

This has happened several times before, the recent one being in the UK when the pilot of a Cessna deceased due to a heart attack and the pax landed the plane safely with just ATC instructions, but no record of happening in a commercial airliner especially with both the pilots down.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-humber-24450534

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Talk_down_aircraft_landing

IADCA

Re: Can a pax land an aircraft?

Sat Feb 10, 2018 11:41 pm

It's not completely absurd, but there are a lot of variables that would play into how realistic it is. A 172 is a completely different animal from anything 320-sized and up, and it strikes me as really unlikely that a random Joe in 28E could hand fly a landing. If you could talk him into a position and were lucky enough to have a Cat III autoland available as an option, I'd think that would be a very different story.

Note though that Joe 28E would probably need help from a well-trained FA to even operate the radio to communicate, so you'd have a steep learning curve, and probably even more important than the ATC would be someone on the frequency who actually knew the plane, probably a type-rated pilot.

studentdrbev
Topic Author

Sun Feb 11, 2018 4:54 am

IADCA wrote: