777222LR
Topic Author

Dubai Ideas, places to see, opinions

Sat Aug 05, 2017 11:13 am

Hi!

I am headed to Dubai in October. It's my first time there. I will be at the JW Marriott Marquis on Sheikh Zayed Road.

Several reasons I'm excited:

1. Lufthansa and Turkish business class. OKC-DEN-FRA-DXB-IST-IAH-OKC. I've not flown business class on either. Opinions on both?

2. The hotel: The JW Marriott Marquis is the tallest hotel in the world, and I got a huge room at a ridiculously low rate on a high floor. Hoping for amazing views.

3. I've never been to Dubai. I hear there are so many things to see. So I want your opinion on highlights of the city. Also, I was considering doing a day trip to Abu Dhabi to see the Sheikh Zayed Mosque. Is it possible to make this trip in a day, and how do I get there.

I appreciate the opinions and suggestions. Thanks!

L410Turbolet

Re: Dubai Ideas, places to see, opinions

Sat Aug 05, 2017 12:03 pm

Opinions?
Dubai is currently THE most overrated tourist destination. Shopping malls in a desert. Place without a soul or any "genius loci" whatsoever.

Suggestions?
1. I would be very hesitant to take a high floor room given the fire safety standards there.
2. Upon arrival take a taxi, let the driver take you around the most notorious sights, spend a night in Dubai. This would quality to check the "been there done that" checklist. The next morning, take a bus/plane to Muscat and rent a car there (crossing the UAE/Oman border with rental car could be an ordeal). Oman is much more authentic, interesting and sightseeing-worthy. #2 of course very much depends on how many days you plan to spend there.

Braybuddy

Sat Aug 05, 2017 12:59 pm

L410Turbolet wrote:
Opinions?
Dubai is currently THE most overrated tourist destination. Shopping malls in a desert. Place without a soul or any "genius loci" whatsoever.