Moderators: richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

Private pilot license books

Thu Jan 21, 1999 5:49 pm

I want to get my pilot private license during the summer, but before that I would like to study all the related theory stuff myself.

Taking into account I am a complete beginner and I want to get to the point where you know as much about flying as a private pilot, which book/s should I buy? I don´t care about price, I care about contens, clear explanations and helpfull tips or advices. It is fine if the book contens include more information than I actually need to become a private pilot.

Thanks for the answers!

FedEx

RE: Private pilot license books

Fri Jan 22, 1999 1:01 am

You should get this book: Flight Training Handbook
It's writen by the Department of Transporatation
FAA. ASA published it! It's a blue book with planes
on the front ! You should get this book first! Then you
should get the RED book "private pilot" by GLEM !!
That book is a must!! I have GLEM books from all
my ratings! Hope this helps! Live the dream !!

Fri Jan 22, 1999 3:11 am

I thikn if you study ground school it will make no sense until you start flying. I studied ground school and now I am just about understanding it!! But books on flying and the basic controls and instruments would be good. GO to the flight school you are flying out of and speak to an Instructor he will now of the good ones and will help you along the way.
Iain

L-188

Advice From Test Administrator

Fri Jan 22, 1999 9:10 am

Jeppenson Sanderson and ASA both have good materials. The FAA also publishes it's own Flight Training handbook. It is what all the others have to go by. I didn't know Gleim had a flight study book, I usually only see the test preps that they put out.