Moderators: richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

AriaPark
Topic Author

What's the purpose of this Antonov plane? (AN-124)

Tue May 22, 2018 1:24 pm

Hi all! Apologies if this is not the right place for this question, but couldn't find a more fitting place for it. Also I'm quite new in all this aviation field so please bear with me!

I've searched in the forum for references to this plane and there were people asking about it, but I've seen little responses to their queries. The thing is I saw an Antonov taking off from Malaga and captured it with my FlighRadar app. I had only seen it in pictures so it was quite the achievement, however it doesn't seem to follow an specified route and it's just going from airport to airport. I understand this is a cargo plane, but could anyone tell me what is its purpose? Who owns it?

This is a screenshot of the route it has been following up until today:

Thanks!

leleko747

Re: What's the purpose of this Antonov plane? (AN-124)

Tue May 22, 2018 2:56 pm

It is operated by Antonov Airlines, a subsidiary company of Antonov Design Bureau (the manufacturer)... they use it for charter operations, transporting oversized loads. Hope this helps!

leghorn

Tue May 22, 2018 3:02 pm

I heard in an automotive industry report that the Ford F-150 is so important to Ford that when a supplier's factory and machinery went on fire and halted production very recently they chartered in an Antonov to return the machine to the manufacturer for repair. A couple of money is no obstacle jobs like that each year and they'd be making more money than on a year round regular scheduled service and the Antonov stays fresh avoiding the need for as much maintenance.

https://jalopnik.com/heres-how-ford-use ... 1826116377
Last edited by leghorn on Tue May 22, 2018 3:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

WorldFlier

Tue May 22, 2018 3:02 pm

Carrying heavy or large things that cannot be carried by other planes due to weight or size restrictions: