Moderators: richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

boston5555
Topic Author

UA at BOS

Tue Aug 08, 2017 9:01 pm

Noticed that UA was operating a 77W on BOS - SFO today. Also found it interesting that UA seems to gate their excess aircraft at the E terminal overnight .... wondering why others don't or can't.

Have a nice pic ... if only I could figure out how to upload to the thread (sorry, I'm a rookie).

FGITD

Re: UA at BOS

Tue Aug 08, 2017 9:59 pm

Seems to be a 77w at random. Seen it a few times.

I've seen mostly every airline at BOS overnight an airplane at E. Of course those with handsets/maintenance space are less likely to, but there's been a wide variety

flyguy84

Wed Aug 09, 2017 1:04 am

With the slack in the 77W fleet right now they are regularly subbed in when a 772 is unavailable.

intotheair

Wed Aug 09, 2017 1:45 am

Yeah, there's a fair amount of slack right now with the 774s still around and enough 77Ws that they have been regularly subbed in on 772 routes all over the system. They've showed up in LHR, BRU, DEN, IAD, LAX, HNL, and lots of other unscheduled 77W destinations.

VC10er

Wed Aug 09, 2017 10:57 am

I guess moving their 77Ws around a bit has a small side benefit by allowing some groups of premium fliers to experience the Polaris seat and start some buzz (word of mouth and social media) about what is to come...one day!!!

airbazar

Wed Aug 09, 2017 2:19 pm

VC10er wrote:
I guess moving their 77Ws around a bit has a small side benefit by allowing some groups of premium fliers to experience the Polaris seat and start some buzz (word of mouth and social media) about what is to come...one day!!!

Personally I find product inconsistency to be bad in any business but I'm not a premium flier so maybe I'm not their target audience :)
As an example, when you look are successful companies, what they all have in common is product consistency: McDonalds, Southwest Airlines, Coca-Cola, Samsung, Singapore Airlines, just to name a few.

United1