Moderators: richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

metalinyoni
Topic Author

Whats your Uber rating?

Thu Nov 09, 2017 10:25 am

About a year ago I started to notice that more and more Uber drivers were initially accepting my requests and then cancelling. I mentioned this to a mate who said it was probably because my Uber rating was low (below 4.5). I didn't even know drivers rated the passengers but I found out that my rating was 4.25. I was horrified and then started to obsess with why it was low - I don't drink, never told a driver which way to go, never eaten in the car, don't slam doors and I always tip. I can't think why I have been rated low. So I thought stuff it I'll just use normal taxi's and forget about Uber. For point of reference, I'm a 41-year-old married chartered accountant - I'm not much of a party goer who is barfing in taxies with a group of hoochi mama's. I am almost the perfect characterization of a dull accountant.

However yesterday I was in London with a client who was trying to organise an Uber and couldn't get the app to work so I said we could use mine. Before we got into the car I explained to them the whole rating issue and said I wanted to get mine better so explained the rules. We were waiting for him when he arrived, we put our own bags in the boot/trunk, no one spoke much as we were tired from the conference, no one slammed doors, no one gave the driver any directions, we said thank-you at our destination and I tipped him 20% of the fare.

After making all that effort to be decent and pleasant customers, my rating is now even lower at 4.11. which means the driver must have rated me 3.

I don't understand why the driver would intentionally give me such a bad rating which makes it more difficult for me to use the service in the future. I would love to hear from an Uber driver what I could possibly be doing wrong. It really bugs me because I do try to be a pleasant person and obviously, it's not working at least in the world of Uber.