einsteinboricua
Topic Author

Mispronounced Words

Sun Oct 22, 2017 11:20 pm

How come certain segments of the population thrive on purposely mispronouncing words? I have a coworker (with a masters, no less) who wants to know if I've "aksed" someone about a subject and insists that I can learn more by "aksking" while also letting me know about a ticket from the "poelice".

The Grammar Nazi in me is alive and well and I am tempted to correct them on the spot; others have done so and the coworker insists it's a "hood" way of pronouncing things.

It's one thing when someone says po-TAE-toe and another says po-TAH-toe. It's a regional difference of the same word. Even teeter-totter and see-saw refer to the same thing (depending on where you grew up). Sneakers-tennis shoes; water fountain-drinking fountain...they all mean the same thing. However, no one ever mispronounces these words. You'll never hear someone say sneak-ERS or sneak-res.

Nuclear and nucular are borderline, though even Bill Clinton said the same way which leads us to believe it's the Southern accent (doesn't make it any more acceptable).

In Spanish, it gets complicated even further. We have La Real Academia Española (The Royal Spanish Academy) who is supposed to be the ultimate authority as to what constitutes good Spanish grammar and vocabulary. I was disappointed when they accepted a variant of the word "bat". In Spanish it's 'murciélago' (moor-see-EH-lah-go) yet they went ahead and said that 'murciégalo' (moor-see-EH-gah-loh) is acceptable.

I understand languages evolve, but if we have words for something, why do we allow them to become bastardized into something else? Ask->aks, for example...And for the record, I don't proclaim myself to be an expert in language, but (IMO) it speaks volumes that a non-native speaker has better command of the language than a sizeable part of the native speaker population.

On a side note, I'd love to post this on my cube, but I fear HR may give me a call: