DocLightning
Topic Author

What's going on with Qatar?

Mon Jun 05, 2017 5:28 am

https://english.alarabiya.net/en/News/g ... Qatar.html

Egypt, the UAE, Saudi Arabia, and Bahrain have all severed diplomatic ties with Qatar in the last few hours, almost in unison. All of these nations have stated very similar reasons, which strike me as vagaries, but I'm not an expert on ME affairs.

This is a pretty major diplomatic event for the region, perhaps even unprecedented. What did the Qataris do and why is the entire ME unfriending them all of a sudden?
-Doc Lightning-

"The sky calls to us. If we do not destroy ourselves, we will one day venture to the stars."
-Carl Sagan

Kiwirob

Re: What's going on with Qatar?

Mon Jun 05, 2017 6:01 am

Time for FIFA to also pull the plug?

sierrakilo44

Mon Jun 05, 2017 6:02 am

Qatar wants to normalise relations with Iran
Saudi Arabia hates this, and I believe also wants to deflect attention now that western politicians (Corbyn) are now beginning to call them out for funding extremists

DocLightning
Topic Author

Mon Jun 05, 2017 6:04 am

sierrakilo44 wrote:
Saudi Arabia hates this, and I believe also wants to deflect attention now that western politicians (Corbyn) are now beginning to call them out for funding extremists

And Bahrain? Egypt? The UAE?
-Doc Lightning-

"The sky calls to us. If we do not destroy ourselves, we will one day venture to the stars."
-Carl Sagan

TheF15Ace

Mon Jun 05, 2017 6:28 am

DocLightning wrote:
sierrakilo44 wrote:

And Bahrain? Egypt? The UAE?

Egypt did have issues with Qatar due to Qatar being sympathetic towards the Muslim Brotherhood. Maybe they saw an opportunity and took it.

I think Bahrain is a case of Saudi saying ''jump'' and Bahrain asking ''how high?''

I'm a bit surprised at UAE because I see plenty of Qataris here and everyone seems to get along quite well, even members of the Royal Families. Could be the same reason as Bahrain :confused: