Iloveboeing
Topic Author

The Butchering Of Chinese Names By Foreigners

Tue Mar 14, 2017 12:27 am

I studied Mandarin for 2 years: one in Xianggang (Hong Kong) and one in the United States.

Although I am nowhere near fluent in Mandarin, I can pronounce the pinyin (romanization) very well and can get quite irritated when people mispronounce Chinese words.

One example is the Chinese capital, Beijing. People love to pronounce it with the French j and, although I studied French for four years and think it's a beautiful language, it doesn't exist in Mandarin and people have no business pronouncing it that way. It is clearly "BAY-JING" with two separate syllables and tones.

I cringed on the UA flights to Beijing when the flight attendants repeatedly mispronounced the city. I wonder what the many Chinese people on-board thought of that. It sure bothered me and I am a white American.

Another one is Shanghai. So many people say "Shayng-hai" with an almost Southern twang when it should be "SHAHNG-HAI" with a long a. The ayng sound doesn't exist in Mandarin.

Mandarin is an absolutely beautiful language and foreigners have no business making fools out of themselves by butchering the language. It also shows disrespect for the Chinese.

wingman

Re: The Butchering Of Chinese Names By Foreigners

Tue Mar 14, 2017 1:39 am

Easy there my little wonton. When the Chinese learn how to pronounce Roger Federer's name properly we'll give a shit. And in the meantime they keep munching elephants and rhino into extinction...so a lot of us super duper don't give a shit. I love Boeings too but in the pantheon of causes you really picked a low ranker chief.

YVRLTN

Tue Mar 14, 2017 2:06 am

Please let us know how you pronounce the British towns of Leicester, Gloucester, Bicester and Wymondham.
Follow me on twitter for YVR movements @vernonYVR

chimborazo

Tue Mar 14, 2017 2:16 am