ML1316
Topic Author

Military Aviation Career Advice?

Wed Jan 10, 2018 5:36 am

Hi, my name is Michael. I am currently serving as an Army officer, and I am looking at possibly transferring to the Air Force to be a pilot once my commitment is over. I currently have a PPL, and I will be 29 when my contract is over. I attended West Point and graduated with a 3.0 in defense and strategic studies. I am currently serving as an Infantry officer but have always had an interest in flying. It was during my flight training to obtain my PPL that I realized that flying is what I want to do for a living, whether it is in the military or not. I would like to serve a career in the military but will most likely get out if I cannot fly for the military in any capacity. I would like to do a service transfer mid contract if possible but it doesn't seem likely. Either way, can anyone offer any advice? Would getting more flight training or more education make me more competitive? What could I be doing now to make this happen if its even possible?
Last edited by atcsundevil on Wed Jan 10, 2018 6:24 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Edited title for clarity

mmo

Re: Military Aviation Career Advice?

Wed Jan 10, 2018 10:55 am

To be honest, you are too old. You have to meet the selection board before you are 28 1/2 and you have to enter SUPT before you are 30. However waivers are available up until you are 35. IIRC, the sticking point is the selection board as you have to meet that prior to being 28 1/2. But it really doesn't hurt to try. I was active duty for 11 years and then Guard/Reserves for 11 more in the AF.

I don't know where you are stationed, but it might be worth a trip to Joint Base Randolph, in San Antonio as the Personnel Center is located there and you could probably go talk to the rated selection folks. You might have to do some hunting to get their office symbol and phone number but it certainly wouldn't hurt.